a→A
A→a
Menu

HALLE

FÜR

KUNST

Lüneburg

<p>Alan Michael, <em>Cars and Houses</em> (2008), oil on canvas, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy the artist and Sammlung Gaby and Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. / Alan Michael, <em>Liveblog</em> (2021), oil on canvas, 152 x 105 cm, Courtesy the artist and HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Cologne. Photos: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Cars and Houses (2008), oil on canvas, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy the artist and Sammlung Gaby and Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. / Alan Michael, Liveblog (2021), oil on canvas, 152 x 105 cm, Courtesy the artist and HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Cologne. Photos: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael, <em>Cars and Houses</em> (2008), oil on canvas, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy the artist and Sammlung Gaby and Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. / Alan Michael, <em>Liveblog</em> (2021), oil on canvas, 152 x 105 cm, Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Cologne. / Alan Michael, <em>Essays and Fictions</em> (2021), acrylic paint dimensions variable. Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps, Cologne. Photos: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Cars and Houses (2008), oil on canvas, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy the artist and Sammlung Gaby and Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. / Alan Michael, Liveblog (2021), oil on canvas, 152 x 105 cm, Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Cologne. / Alan Michael, Essays and Fictions (2021), acrylic paint dimensions variable. Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps, Cologne. Photos: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael, <em>Cars and Houses</em> (2008), oil on canvas, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy the artist and Sammlung Gaby and Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. Photo: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Cars and Houses (2008), oil on canvas, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy the artist and Sammlung Gaby and Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. Photo: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael, <em>Cars and Houses</em> (2008), oil on canvas, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy the artist and Sammlung Gaby and Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. Photo: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Cars and Houses (2008), oil on canvas, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy the artist and Sammlung Gaby and Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. Photo: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael, <em>Liveblog</em> (2021), oil on canvas, 152 x 105 cm, Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Cologne. Photo: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Liveblog (2021), oil on canvas, 152 x 105 cm, Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Cologne. Photo: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael, <em>Liveblog</em> (2021), oil on canvas, 152 x 105 cm, Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Cologne. Photo. Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Liveblog (2021), oil on canvas, 152 x 105 cm, Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Cologne. Photo. Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael, <em>Essays and Fictions</em> (2021), acrylic paint dimensions variable. Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris and Jan Kaps, Cologne. Photo: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Essays and Fictions (2021), acrylic paint dimensions variable. Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris and Jan Kaps, Cologne. Photo: Fred Dott.

<p>Installation View, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, Alan Michael, <em>Playlife</em>, 2021. / Alan Michael, <em>Cars and Houses</em> (2008), oil on canvas, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy the artist and Sammlung Gaby and Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. Photo: Fred Dott.</p>

Installation View, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, Alan Michael, Playlife, 2021. / Alan Michael, Cars and Houses (2008), oil on canvas, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy the artist and Sammlung Gaby and Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. Photo: Fred Dott.

<p>Exhibition View, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, Alan Michael, <em>Playlife</em>, 2021. Photo: Fred Dott.</p>

Exhibition View, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, Alan Michael, Playlife, 2021. Photo: Fred Dott.

<p>Exhibition View, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, Alan Michael, <em>Playlife</em>, 2021. Photo: Fred Dott.</p>

Exhibition View, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, Alan Michael, Playlife, 2021. Photo: Fred Dott.

<p>Exhibition View, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, Alan Michael, <em>Playlife</em>, 2021. Photo: Fred Dott.</p>

Exhibition View, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, Alan Michael, Playlife, 2021. Photo: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael,<em> Syn</em> (2015), oil on canvas, 152 x 105 cm. Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris and Jan Kaps Köln. Photo: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Syn (2015), oil on canvas, 152 x 105 cm. Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris and Jan Kaps Köln. Photo: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael,<em> Syn</em> (2015), oil on canvas, 152 x 105 cm. Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris and Jan Kaps Cologne. Photo: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Syn (2015), oil on canvas, 152 x 105 cm. Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris and Jan Kaps Cologne. Photo: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael, <em>literally show me a healthy person</em> (2021), oil on treated paper, plexiglass frame, 35 x 26 cm, Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris and Jan Kaps, Cologne. / Alan Michael, <em>Soft Split</em> (2021), oil on treated paper, plexiglass frame, 35 x 26 cm, Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris and Jan Kaps, Cologne. Photo: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, literally show me a healthy person (2021), oil on treated paper, plexiglass frame, 35 x 26 cm, Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris and Jan Kaps, Cologne. / Alan Michael, Soft Split (2021), oil on treated paper, plexiglass frame, 35 x 26 cm, Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris and Jan Kaps, Cologne. Photo: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael, <em>literally show me a healthy person</em> (2021), oil on treated paper, plexiglass frame, 35 x 26 cm, Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris and Jan Kaps, Cologne. Photo: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, literally show me a healthy person (2021), oil on treated paper, plexiglass frame, 35 x 26 cm, Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris and Jan Kaps, Cologne. Photo: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael, <em>Soft Split</em> (2021), oil on treated paper, plexiglass frame, 35 x 26 cm, Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris and Jan Kaps, Cologne. Photo: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Soft Split (2021), oil on treated paper, plexiglass frame, 35 x 26 cm, Courtesy the artist; HIGH ART, Paris and Jan Kaps, Cologne. Photo: Fred Dott.

<p>Exhibition View, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, Alan Michael, <em>Playlife</em>, 2021. Photo: Fred Dott.</p>

Exhibition View, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, Alan Michael, Playlife, 2021. Photo: Fred Dott.

<p>Exhibition View, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, Alan Michael, <em>Playlife</em>, 2021. Photo: Fred Dott.</p>

Exhibition View, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, Alan Michael, Playlife, 2021. Photo: Fred Dott.

<p>Exhibition View, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, Alan Michael, <em>Playlife</em>, 2021. Photo: Fred Dott.</p>

Exhibition View, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, Alan Michael, Playlife, 2021. Photo: Fred Dott.

Alan Michael

Playlife

Exhibition   31. October 2021 – 19. December 2021

Playlife presents a series of works created by Scottish artist Alan Michael (*1967 in Glasgow, lives and works in London) since the early 2000s. The works centre around one motif: cars parked in streets, their cityscape surroundings reflecting in their windows. The exhibition collects a series of paintings of commodities–renderings of automobiles, the production of which resumed in the late 1990s and early 2000s, based on "classic" models from the mid-twentieth century. Representing the visual texture of the early 2000s, these cars represent a form of obsession with the past, and the cultural phenomenon of the retro aesthetic which permeated fashion, product and interior design. 

Michael's paintings are ways of seeing and ways of image production, one among many. Art historian Linda Nochlin, writing in 1971 on photorealist painting as “new” Realism, stated that “New Realism has exploded the modernist myth entirely,” and with it, the remaining belief in a linear development of painting, resulting in a permanent parallel presence of formal strategies. Michael’s work, formally adjunct to strategies of photorealism, has been concerned with forms and problems of vision, while retaining an ambivalent but courteous relation to their formal procedures. Michael's works participate in the economy they depict as stowaways. In this way, they reveal the economies that are at work here: a desire to incorporate history and, with it, potential alternative narratives.

On the occasion of this exhibition, Michael created reproductions of older work. In a practice spanning over twenty years, the exhibition considers, what is sorted out, what is brought out again, what is changed–looking back, disclosing strategies of image production.

The annual program at Halle für Kunst Lüneburg e.V. is funded by the Ministry for Science and Culture of Lower Saxony, Sparkassenstiftung Lüneburg and Hansestadt Lüneburg. The educational programme at Halle für Kunst Lüneburg e.V. is funded by the Ministry for Science and Culture of Lower Saxony. The exhibition Playlife is supported by Lüneburgischer Landschaftsverband and Hansestadt Lüneburg.

Please note that for visiting Halle für Kunst a proof of vaccination or proof of recovery is required. We also need a negative test result, a test can be taken at the Halle für Kunst (2G+).

Logos

a→A
A→a
Menü

HALLE

FÜR

KUNST

Lüneburg

<p>Alan Michael, <em>Cars and Houses</em> (2008), Öl auf Leinwand, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy der Künstler und Sammlung Gaby and Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. / Alan Michael, <em>Liveblog</em> (2021), Öl auf Leinwand, 152 x 105 cm, Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Köln. Foto: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Cars and Houses (2008), Öl auf Leinwand, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy der Künstler und Sammlung Gaby and Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. / Alan Michael, Liveblog (2021), Öl auf Leinwand, 152 x 105 cm, Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Köln. Foto: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael, <em>Cars and Houses</em> (2008), Öl auf Leinwand, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy der Künstler und Sammlung Gaby und Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. / Alan Michael, <em>Liveblog</em> (2021), Öl auf Leinwand, 152 x 105 cm, Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Köln. / Alan Michael, <em>Essays and Fictions</em> (2021), Acrylfarbe, Maße variabel. Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps, Köln. Fotos: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Cars and Houses (2008), Öl auf Leinwand, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy der Künstler und Sammlung Gaby und Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. / Alan Michael, Liveblog (2021), Öl auf Leinwand, 152 x 105 cm, Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Köln. / Alan Michael, Essays and Fictions (2021), Acrylfarbe, Maße variabel. Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps, Köln. Fotos: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael, <em>Cars and Houses</em> (2008), Öl auf Leinwand, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy der Künstler und Sammlung Gaby und Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. Foto: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Cars and Houses (2008), Öl auf Leinwand, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy der Künstler und Sammlung Gaby und Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. Foto: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael, <em>Cars and Houses</em> (2008), Öl auf Leinwand, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy der Künstler und Sammlung Gaby und Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. Foto: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Cars and Houses (2008), Öl auf Leinwand, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy der Künstler und Sammlung Gaby und Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. Foto: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael, <em>Liveblog</em> (2021), Öl auf Leinwand, 152 x 105 cm, Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Köln. Foto: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Liveblog (2021), Öl auf Leinwand, 152 x 105 cm, Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Köln. Foto: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael, <em>Liveblog</em> (2021), Öl auf Leinwand, 152 x 105 cm, Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Köln. Foto: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Liveblog (2021), Öl auf Leinwand, 152 x 105 cm, Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Köln. Foto: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael, <em>Essays and Fictions</em> (2021), Acrylfarbe, Maße variabel. Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps, Köln. Foto: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Essays and Fictions (2021), Acrylfarbe, Maße variabel. Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps, Köln. Foto: Fred Dott.

<p>Ausstellungsansicht, Alan Michael, <em>Playlife</em>, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, 2021. / Alan Michael, <em>Cars and Houses</em> (2008), Öl auf Leinwand, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy der Künstler und Sammlung Gaby und Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. Foto: Fred Dott.</p>

Ausstellungsansicht, Alan Michael, Playlife, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, 2021. / Alan Michael, Cars and Houses (2008), Öl auf Leinwand, 101,7 x 152,5 cm, Courtesy der Künstler und Sammlung Gaby und Wilhelm Schürmann Herzogenrath. Foto: Fred Dott.

<p>Ausstellungsansicht, Alan Michael, <em>Playlife</em>, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, 2021. Foto: Fred Dott.</p>

Ausstellungsansicht, Alan Michael, Playlife, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, 2021. Foto: Fred Dott.

<p>Ausstellungsansicht, Alan Michael, <em>Playlife</em>, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, 2021. Foto: Fred Dott.</p>

Ausstellungsansicht, Alan Michael, Playlife, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, 2021. Foto: Fred Dott.

<p>Ausstellungsansicht, Alan Michael, <em>Playlife</em>, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, 2021. Foto: Fred Dott.</p>

Ausstellungsansicht, Alan Michael, Playlife, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, 2021. Foto: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael,<em> Syn</em> (2015), Öl auf Leinwand, 152 x 105 cm. Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Köln. Foto: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Syn (2015), Öl auf Leinwand, 152 x 105 cm. Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Köln. Foto: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael,<em> Syn</em> (2015), Öl auf Leinwand, 152 x 105 cm. Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Köln. Foto: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Syn (2015), Öl auf Leinwand, 152 x 105 cm. Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps Köln. Foto: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael, <em>literally show me a healthy person</em> (2021), Öl auf behandeltem Papier, Plexi-Rahmen, 35 x 26 cm, Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps, Köln. / Alan Michael, <em>Soft Split</em> (2021), Öl auf behandeltem Papier, Plexi-Rahmen, 35 x 26 cm, Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps, Köln. Foto: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, literally show me a healthy person (2021), Öl auf behandeltem Papier, Plexi-Rahmen, 35 x 26 cm, Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps, Köln. / Alan Michael, Soft Split (2021), Öl auf behandeltem Papier, Plexi-Rahmen, 35 x 26 cm, Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps, Köln. Foto: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael, <em>literally show me a healthy person</em> (2021), Öl auf behandeltem Papier, 35 x 26 cm, Courtesy der Künstler HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps, Köln. Foto: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, literally show me a healthy person (2021), Öl auf behandeltem Papier, 35 x 26 cm, Courtesy der Künstler HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps, Köln. Foto: Fred Dott.

<p>Alan Michael, <em>Soft Split</em> (2021), Öl auf behandeltem Papier, 35 x 26 cm, Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps, Köln. Foto: Fred Dott.</p>

Alan Michael, Soft Split (2021), Öl auf behandeltem Papier, 35 x 26 cm, Courtesy der Künstler; HIGH ART, Paris und Jan Kaps, Köln. Foto: Fred Dott.

<p>Ausstellungsansicht, Alan Michael, <em>Playlife</em>, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, 2021. Foto: Fred Dott.</p>

Ausstellungsansicht, Alan Michael, Playlife, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, 2021. Foto: Fred Dott.

<p>Ausstellungsansicht, Alan Michael, <em>Playlife</em>, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, 2021. Foto: Fred Dott.</p>

Ausstellungsansicht, Alan Michael, Playlife, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, 2021. Foto: Fred Dott.

<p>Ausstellungsansicht, Alan Michael, <em>Playlife</em>, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, 2021. Foto: Fred Dott.</p>

Ausstellungsansicht, Alan Michael, Playlife, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, 2021. Foto: Fred Dott.

Alan Michael

Playlife

Ausstellung   31. Oktober 2021 – 19. Dezember 2021

Die Ausstellung Playlife zeigt eine Reihe von Malereien des schottischen Künstlers Alan Michael (*1967 in Glasgow, lebt und arbeitet in London), die seit den frühen 2000er Jahren entstanden sind. Alle Arbeiten zeigen dasselbe Motiv: in Straßen geparkte Autos, in deren Fenstern sich der Stadtraum spiegelt. Die Ausstellung versammelt eine Reihe von Gemälden von Gebrauchsgegenständen – Autos aus den 1990er und frühen 2000er Jahren, deren Form auf „klassischen“ Modellen der Mitte des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts beruht. Das Design dieser Autos ist typisch für eine visuelle Bildsprache der frühen 2000er, eine Retroästhetik, die Mode, Produktdesign und Inneneinrichtung dieser Zeit prägte. 

Michaels Bilder zeigen sowohl Sehgewohnheiten als auch Methoden der Bildproduktion, wobei Malerei dabei eine unter vielen ist. Die Kunsthistorikerin Linda Nochlin schrieb 1971 über die fotorealistische Malerei als „neuen“ Realismus: „Der Neue Realismus hat den Mythos der Moderne vollständig gesprengt“ – und damit auch den verbliebenen Glauben an eine lineare Entwicklung der Malerei. Dieser Prozess führte letztendlich zu einer parallelen Gegenwärtigkeit von formalen Strategien. Michaels Praxis schließt formal an die Strategien des Fotorealismus an und beschäftigt sich mit Formen und Problemen des Sehens, wobei er eine ambivalente und höflich-distanzierte Perspektive dazu einnimmt. Seine Arbeiten sind dabei blinde Passagiere in einer Ökonomie, die sie darstellen und an der sie gleichzeitig teilhaben. Auf diese Weise offenbaren sie ökonomische Beziehungen und das Begehren, sich Geschichte und damit mögliche alternative Erzählungen einzuverleiben.

Anlässlich dieser Ausstellung hat Michael Kopien älterer Arbeiten angefertigt. In Bezug auf eine sich über zwanzig Jahre erstreckende Praxis erwägt die Ausstellung, was aussortiert, was wieder aktuell geworden ist, was verändert wird – und legt im Rückblick Strategien der Bildproduktion offen.

Das Jahresprogramm der Halle für Kunst Lüneburg e.V. wird gefördert durch das Niedersächsische Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur, die Sparkassenstiftung Lüneburg und die Hansestadt Lüneburg. Das Vermittlungsprogramm der Halle für Kunst Lüneburg e.V. wird ermöglicht durch das Niedersächsische Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur. Die Ausstellung Playlife wird gefördert durch den Lüneburgischen Landschaftsverband und die Hansestadt Lüneburg.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass für den Besuch der Halle für Kunst ein Impfausweis oder ein Genesenennachweis erforderlich ist (2G). Zudem benötigen wir einen negativen Testnachweis, der aber auch vor Ort gemacht werden kann (2G+). Kinder und Jugendliche unter 18 Jahren sind von der Regelung ausgeschlossen.

Logos